Heading Back…Back to the Track for the Second Day of Peterborough Speedway’s 22nd Annual Autumn Colours Classic

Peterborough Speedway - October 11, 2014 054 (2)Close to 300 different race teams signed-in pit side at Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval for the 22nd Annual Autumn Colours Classic – presented by Lucas Oil Products – at Peterborough Speedway. Second round qualifying for the Super Bowl of Stock Car Racing took the spotlight Saturday, October 11th, on a crisp, cool and sunny afternoon.


Every driver who took to the tight, tricky bullring on Mount Pleasant Road, west of the Liftlock City was looking to secure the best possible starting position for the Sunday afternoon ‘A’ main events that would crown the 2014 Autumn Colours Classic champions.


After running practice rounds the day before, the OSCAAR Super Late Models turned-in their first qualifying heats with NASCAR Canadian Tire Series standout J.R. Fitzpatrick taking a pair of checkered flags, along with Jesse Kennedy, Andrew Gresel, Jeff Dunford and Sunset Speedway track promoter Mark Dilley also earning wins. In Pro Late Model qualifying, Ryan Kimball and Craig Graham visited victory lane, while Peterborough Speedway regulars John Baker Jr., Daryl Fice and Howie Crowe claimed Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car heat wins.


Alan Inglis, Jason Parker and Canadian Motorsports Hall of Famer Stompin’ Tom Walters added their names to the Earl Ireland Auto Sales Late Model qualifying event winners. Kevin Strutt, Ryan Babin, Ryan Oosterholt and Andy Kamrath each picked-up their second Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock wins of the weekend, while John VanDyke added a first triumph.


In OSCAAR Modified qualifying, Brent McLean scored his second weekend win, with other checkered flags going to Matt Barton and Dustin Jackson. Malcolm MacDonald added a second Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun heat victory, with 2014 track champion Willow Barberstock and Tiffany Vanderbelt taking the others.


Last chance qualifiers were needed to set the final line-ups for Sunday’s Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car and Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock main events. Matt Bentley, Adam Meisner, Brent Weller and Mike Wallace made the Thunder Car field, while Warren Paxton, Danny Benedict, Kyle Chartrand, Dan Demers, James Townsend, Dave Watchorn, Gil Brooks and Nick Clarke cracked the Mini Stock grid.


The Hurricane Midgets ran their final show of 2014, with Larry Lawson, Mike Bradley, James Rogers and Owen Elliott taking the qualifying wins. Rogers, Paul Draganac, Brian Woodland, Adam Carrothers and Richard Woodland were the top 5 finishers in the Midget’s ‘A’ main. Jamie Bound was named the year’s point champion. It was announced that the Hurricane Midgets will race under the OSCAAR banner in 2015.


Bullring Bullet Points: OSCAAR Modified driver Mike Hardy saw his weekend come to an end with a hard crash into the front stretch wall. He walked away from the wreck unhurt, but his #20 mount was loaded for the trip back to Sault Ste. Marie…Saturday’s 50/50 draw was worth $1189.00 to the winner.


Feature events will be the order of business for the final day of this year’s Super Bowl of Stock Car Racing Sunday, October 12th. Pit gates open at 10:00, with a 114 lap Pro Late Model dance hitting the track at 12:30. See the Autumn Colours Classic schedule at www.peterboroughspeedway.com for details and click the ‘Autumn Colours’ tab. Like Peterborough Speedway on Facebook or follow it on Twitter. You can also download the free Peterborough Speedway app on your Smartphone.

Share this post