Ontario Modifieds Racing Series Logs Another Strong Peterborough Speedway Outing

IMG_3146 (1)With the top 5 drivers in the point standings less than 30 markers apart, the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series – powered by Torque Builders Inc. – made their second start of the Hot August Night Racing Series – Saturday, August 22nd – at Peterborough Speedway.


Alex Lees and defending series champion Robert Warnes led the way as the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series rolled from the staging area for their 25 lap main event. An early race yellow slowed the pace and Warnes grabbed the lead on the restart. A few laps later, contact between Chad Strawn and Nick Lees sent both drivers to the rear of the field, but Warnes remained in control.


Beaverton, Ontario’s Donny Beatty had mounted a hard charge from the 9th starting spot and worked his way to the runner-up position with a dozen laps complete. The veteran runner – who earned a Peterborough Speedway Thunder Car track championship just a few years ago – tried to get around the leader using the high and low lines for a handful of laps, but the #95 machine would thwart every challenge on the way to his first win of the year. Alex Lees, Jamie Wagar and Ryan Babin were next in line. Strawn, Randy Hollingsworth, Chris Burrows, Ryan Dick, Willow Barberstock and Nick Lees completed the finishing order.


OMRS qualifying heats earlier in the night went to Nick Lees with a pair, Jamie Wagar and Alex Lees.


Ontario Modifieds Racing Series Peterborough Speedway notes: While Robert Warnes went to victory lane for the first time this season, his father Rick’s tough luck continued, as the #98 machine didn’t turn a single lap…After scoring a pair of qualifying event wins earlier in the night, Nick Lees finished the feature parked in the grass near the infield pit lane…Although the event doesn’t appear on the printed schedule, the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series will conclude the Peterborough Speedway portion of the 2015 schedule Saturday, August 29th.

Share this post