Matt Haufe Holds the Hottest Hand on the Eastern Ontario Legends Series

Christmas. His birthday. Matt Haufe’s 2017 season on the Trailers Plus Eastern Ontario Legends Series has been a culmination of every special event and cherished memory in the young driver’s life. If there was ever a movie documenting his performance this year, it would likely be a remake of ‘Groundhog Day’. With his 7th checkered flag in as many starts on the tour, Haufe wakes-up every race morning knowing he may very well experience the same result as the time before. 


Saturday, July 15th EOLS teams rolled into Peterborough Speedway for the second time in as many weeks. Andrew Massey – a graduate of the home track 4Fun division – and Miles Tyson paced the field from the staging area to the green flag for the 25-lap main event. Tyson – who has made less than a handful of starts this year – took an early lead from the outside, with teammates Cole Ledson and Jamie Riberdy taking the spots behind the #49 car. A yellow flag on the 3rd lap for an incident on the front stretch slowed the pace, with Matt Haufe leading his first laps of the night on the restart.


Cole McFadden – who has been one of the strongest runners on the circuit in recent weeks – moved into 2nd before there were 10 laps on the scoreboard, but Ledson was quick to regain the position. A red flag for a mechanical issue with the #64 of Terry McClelland gave drivers time to plan their late race attacks. Ledson would wrestle the lead away from Haufe on a lap 20 restart, but had it taken away as the white flag waved and Haufe headed to the line with his 7th win of the year. McFadden stole second from Ledson at the checkers, with Riberdy and Adam Cuthbertson rounding-out the top 5. Massey, Wes Cuthbertson, Jeff Drimmie, Rick Eades, Don Arnott, Cory Richardson, Dawson Drimmie, McClelland, Parker Traves, Tyson and Jamie McArthur completed the running order.


Trailers Plus Eastern Ontario Legends Series notes: After experiencing a blown head gasket in his own #79 machine, Adam Cuthbertson’s 5th place effort came at the wheel of Andrew McFadden’s #02…Dave Riopelle was knocked out of action after contact with the wall during qualifying…Heat race wins went to Haufe, Adam Cuthbertson, Wes Cuthbertson and Cole Ledson.


Share this post