INEX Ontario Legends Return to Peterborough Speedway for Fan Appreciation Night

IMG_3062After just over a month away from the friendly confines of Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval, the popular INEX Ontario Legends Series was back at Peterborough Speedway Saturday, August 15th as part of the track’s final Toonie Spectator Grandstand Admission/Fan Appreciation Night of the year.


A huge $1,000.00 payday was waiting for the winner of the Ontario Legends feature event winner, as defending series champion Nicholas Ledson and Kevin Foisy brought the field to the green flag. Ledson got an early jump on his front row rival, as Dave Riopelle used an open door on the inside line to follow into the runner-up spot. As the pack logged half a dozen circuits complete, the leaders started to work through slower traffic at the tail of the running order. Ledson’s lead was wiped off the board a lap later, when the yellow flag flew for debris on the backstretch.


A few laps after taking the restart, a huge wreck blocked the front straight and saw a number of cars knocked out of competition. All involved drivers were checked by track personnel at the scene and released.


As the checkered flag waved, there was no denying Nicholas Ledson his first main event win of the year. Riopelle, Foisy, Cole Ledson and Jacob Sheridan followed across the stripe. Cole McFadden, Bill Mason, Jamie Riberdy, Jarret Stewart, Mark Griffin, Duane Cinnamon, Mike Getliffe, Jamie MacArthur, Terry McClelland, Don Arnott, Rick Eades, Andre Fiorini, Willy Howells, Bob Broad, Bailey Brown and Parker Traves completed the running order.


INEX Ontario Legends Series notes: The event – sponsored by Paul Hutchinson Fuels, a division of Noco Fuels of Canada – was the second last on Peterborough Speedway’s 2015 schedule. The tour will return Saturday, August 29th…A trio of runners were making their first starts of the year at the tight, tricky bullring on Mount Pleasant Road, west of the Liftlock City. Bob Broad – who has experience in a number of different forms of racing – was involved in the front stretch wreck and had his #18 ride cradled back to the pits. Rick Eades and Andre Fiorini also joined the first-timer club. For Fiorini – a former go kart racer – it was his maiden voyage in a racing machine with doors and a roof.


Fans can find complete 2015 schedule and event details by visiting The INEX Ontario Legends Series is supported by Clarke Motorsports Communications.

Share this post