Ontario Modifieds Racing Series Celebrates its 2018 Season

Oshawa’s Harmony Creek Golf Centre was the location – Saturday, November 3rd as the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series – powered by Torque Builders Inc. – honoured its drivers, teams and sponsors following the recently completed season.


Speaking on behalf of the OMRS group of officials that also includes Randy Hollingsworth and Bill Pickford, Rick Warnes began the evening’s activities by acknowledging the tour’s 2018 sponsorship partners including title sponsor Torque Builders Inc., Complete Mechanical, Borque Transmission Service, Thinkpath Design, Gen 3 Electrical, Conview Concrete and Sterling Tire.


Warnes also made mention of Peterborough, Flamborough, Sauble and Delaware Speedways; the tracks that played host to Ontario Modifieds Racing Series dates this year and said that the tour hopes to return to each venue in 2019.


It was a highly competitive campaign, with the top 2 positions in the standings separated by just 20 points. 3rd and 4th were only 2 points apart, while the father and son duo of Rick and Rob Warnes – who finished 5th and 6th in the final running order – were split by just a single marker. There was just a 6 point difference between 7th place finisher Willow Barberstock and Randy Hollingsworth, who was 9th in the standings.


After running a successful Thunder Car/Super Stock program that included track championships at Peterborough Speedway, Anthony DiBello made the seamless transition to OMRS racing this season and clinched the 2018 title, while also being named the Top First Year Driver. Willow Barberstock, another former Peterborough Speedway champion and Chad Strawn – who scored a pair of wins on the season – shared the Most Improved Driver honours, while former series champion John Baker Jr. took home the Hard Charger Award.


2018 Ontario Modifieds Racing Series point standings:


Anthony DiBello                     508            

Brad Stevenson                     488

John Baker Jr.                        484

Chad Strawn                          482

Rick Warnes                          445

Rob Warnes                           444

Willow Barberstock                418

Craig Stevenson                    415

Randy Hollingsworth             412

Bob Franks                             223

Josh Gruntz                            148

Craig Scott                             146

Alex Cuzilla                              44


To learn more about the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series – powered by Torque Builders Inc. – schedule, visit the group’s social media platform, www.facebook.com/OMRS or look for the newly redesigned web-site www.ontariomodifiedsracing.com.


For over a decade, Torque Builders Inc. has worked with partners and clients in the construction industry, offering new, general construction services, renovations and retrofits in the industrial, commercial and institutional sector. See www.torquebuilders.com to find out more. The annual OMRS tour is also supported by Complete Mechanical, Borque Transmission, Gen-3 Electrical, Thinkpath Design, Conview Concrete, Sterling Tire and Clarke Motorsports Communications.

Share this post