Championship Celebration Concludes 2015 OMRS Campaign

IMG_3730Drivers and teams with the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series – powered by Torque Builders Inc. – gathered Saturday, November 14th for an award’s banquet and dinner at the Quality Hotel & Conference Centre in Oshawa to celebrate a successful 2015 season.


With car counts in the mid to upper teens throughout the year, OMRS turned heads in the motorsports community for a year highlighted by on track performance. In his preliminary address, Rick Warnes – one the 3 Ontario Modifieds Racing Series founding members that also includes Bill Pickford and Randy Hollingsworth – paid tribute to the drivers who participated with the tour during the 2015 campaign.


“It was a strong season, from the first green flag to the final checkered,” said Warnes. “We continue to build a solid brand and our mission of providing a competitive, affordable racing series; for racers by racers. Everyone who turned a lap with OMRS this season deserves the thanks of our entire team and every fan who saw our shows during the year.”


While plans for the 2016 schedule has yet to be finalized, Warnes says they expect to return to Peterborough Speedway for about a handful of events. There are also a couple of shows pencilled-in for Sunset Speedway and plans for a return to Flamboro Speedway.


The Ontario Modifieds Racing Series would like to thank this year’s sponsorship partners Torque Builders Inc., Complete Mechanical, Bourque Transmissions, Clarke Motorsports Communications, Showworld Photography, Peterborough Speedway – J.P. Josiasse & Dave Sikma and Flamboro Speedway – John & Frank Casale. Special thanks to Ashley McCubbin, journalist/photographer for her help in this year’s awards.


2015 Ontario Modifieds Racing Series Final Point Standings:


1st:     682   #40   Donny Beatty

2nd:    677   #09   Nick Lees

3rd:    668   #77   Chad Strawn / Brad Stevenson

4th:    657   #88   Ryan Dick

5th:    643   #62   Randy Hollingsworth

6th:    599   #62w Willow Barberstock

7th:    596   #46   Ryan Babin / Christopher Mulders

8th:    569   #95   Robert Warnes

9th:    549   #07   Alex Lees

10th:  497   #32   Jamie Wagar

11th:  475   #65x Chris Burrows

12th:  449   #63   John Baker Jr.

13th:  356   #98   Rick Warnes

14th:  230   #31   Josh Gruntz

15th:  210   #82   Gary Tryon


The 2015 OMRS All Rookie Team was also honoured at the award’s dinner, with Donny Beatty being named Rookie of the Year, in addition to his series championship.


Fans can find full series details at or Ontario Modifieds Racing Series powered by TORQUE BUILDERS Inc. The Ontario Modifieds Racing Series is supported by Clarke Motorsports Communications.

Share this post