OMRS Drivers are Looking Forward to Fan Appreciation Night at Peterborough Speedway

IMG_2064 (2)Putting on a show at the local hometown speedway or in a short track touring series is about more than just chasing the checkered flag. It also involves working with sponsors, as well as building and maintaining a solid base of fan support.


Coming from a variety of different motorsports divisions, drivers with the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series – powered by Torque Builders Inc. – know that having a strong cheering section on raceday helps power the sport. Numbering close to 20 strong, each team is counting the days and getting ready for Peterborough Speedway’s next Toonie Spectator Grandstand Admission/Fan Appreciation Night, scheduled for Saturday, August 15th. Randy Hollingsworth – part of the OMRS team of officials that also includes Richard Warnes and Bill Pickford – says that every driver in the series looks forward to the chance to meet the fans.


“These events are as big a hit with the race teams as they are with the people who sit in the grandstands,” said Hollingsworth. “People line up at the crossover gates and the drivers are busy signing autographs, handing out treats and talking about their cars as soon as the fans are allowed onto the track. Everyone has a favourite on the track, but helped by recent television interviews on CKWS-TV, Kingston and CHEX-TV, Peterborough, the popularity of the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series has grown over the years and we’ve been lucky enough to be included on the schedule for 2 of this year’s 3 Fan Appreciation Nights.”


After a busy month of July, OMRS teams will wrap-up the Peterborough Speedway portion of the 2015 schedule Saturday, August 15th and Saturday, August 22nd. Saturday, August 29th has also been added to make up for the July 25th rainout. The point chase is very tight, with a number of positions that could come down to the final checkered flag of the campaign.


Top 5 Ontario Modifieds Racing Series points as of Saturday, August 8th:


1)      #77   Brad Stevenson                    252

2)      #63   John Baker Jr.                       251

3)      #40   Donny Beatty                         248

4)      #09   Nick Lees                               239

5)      #88   Ryan Dick                              235

Share this post