Where Will the 2014 Autumn Colours Classic Champions Come From

ACC 4With so many different weekly racetracks represented at the 22nd Annual Autumn Colours Classic – presented by Lucas Oil Products – at Peterborough Speedway, the biggest question being asked is where this year’s winners will be from.


2014 track champions and other competitors from more than half a dozen of the province’s finest racing facilities will converge on Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval for the Super Bowl of Stock Car Racing. From Delaware in the west, Capital City Speedway in the east, Barrie in the north and everywhere in between, chasing an Autumn Colours Classic checkered flag is their common goal. Track owner/promoter J.P. Josiasse says fans will be in store for some edge of their seat racing all weekend long.


“From the moment they roll from the staging area and onto the racetrack, every driver in every division will be battling it out for any spot they hope to gain,” said Josiasse. “If short track racing is your thing, we’ll have your brand of excitement and plenty of action to keep you entertained throughout the event.”


When the Sunset Speedway group signs in for the 22nd Annual Autumn Colours Classic, they’ll be led by 2014 Late Model track champion Dwayne Baker, who’ll be looking for a 3rd consecutive Limited Late Model crown. Randy Rusnell – the 2013 Thunder Car event champion – hopes for back-to-back wins, but will face a tough challenge from young upstart Cayden Lapcevich, who clinched the hometown honours with feature race win on the final night of the year. Throw this year’s Chase for the Colours winner Nick Goetz into the mix and there’s a good chance at least one of the ACC titles could head back to Sunset.


Sauble Speedway will be represented by Chase winner and 2014 Thunder Car track champion Ken Grubb and 4 Cylinder/Mini Stock champ Billy Schwartzenburg. Flying the Capital City Speedway colours will be Mini Stock chauffeurs Casey Cavanaugh and Nolan Gould and Thunder Car pilot Todd Musker, while Malcolm ‘Pops’ MacDonald will take a stab at the 4Fun checkered flag. Barrie Speedway runners Doug Butler, Rick Walt and Gord Shepherd will attempt to take the Mini Stock, Thunder Car or Pro Late Model crowns back to their home turf.


Of course, there is also a long list of Peterborough Speedway drivers who’d love to keep the winner’s cheques and trophies in the Liftlock City. 2014 track champion Ryan Kimball will be doing double duty in the Limited and Pro Late Model divisions, while 2009 track champion Amanda Connolly – who ran a partial schedule this past season – will chase an Autumn Colours’ payday. Saturday night regulars including Danny Benedict, John Baker Jr., Craig and Brandt Graham, Ryan Babin, Howie Crowe, James Townsend, Tyler Junkin and others could easily be considered legitimate contenders for an Autumn Colours Classic win.


Make your plans now to catch the Super Bowl of Stock Racing at Peterborough Speedway’s 22nd Annual Autumn Colours Classic – presented by Lucas Oil Products – October 10th, 11th and 12th. Pit gates open daily at 10:00. See www.peterboroughspeedway.com for details and click the ‘Autumn Colours’ tab.


Like Peterborough Speedway on Facebook or follow it on Twitter. You can also download the free Peterborough Speedway app on your Smartphone.

Share this post