A Full Moon Shone Brightly Over Peterborough Speedway’s Mid-Summer Shootout

July 12, 2014 - OharaMyths have long circulated about short track racing under the glow of a full moon and Saturday, July 12th Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Oval put that chatter to the test during the Mid-Summer Shootout.


Main events for the night kicked-off with a 15 lapper for the Parry Spring Service Renegade Trucks, as Stacey Bierworth and defending track champion Bill O’Hara packing the field. O’Hara took an early lead from the outside line, with Jeffrey Vanderbelt and Stephen Bierworth in the train. The #37 of Stacey Bierworth was off the pace from the drop of the green flag, but the rest of the field waged a fierce battle through the entire race distance. Despite a strong challenge from Stephen Bierworth, Bill O’Hara held on for the win. Point leader Jack Dallin, Jeffrey Vanderbelt and Stacey Bierworth completed the top 5.


Marilyn Junkin and Brandon Feeney paced the 16 Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun starters for their 25 lap feature. Before a pair of laps could be completed, the yellow flag was displayed for contact between Tiffany Vandebelt and Feeney. Feeney’s #38 was sidelined for the night and Vandebelt took a spot at the tail of the field. There were 4 laps on the scoreboard when Matthew Vanderbelt and Cody Fenton came together on the exit of the 4th turn. Both cars were able to rejoin the field, but restarted at the back of the pack. Last week’s feature winner Griffin Powell took the lead from Ray Schroer with 10 laps in the books and working lapped traffic to perfection, grabbed his second straight win. Schroer took second, with Tiffany Vandebelt, Willow Barberstock and Ray Carr rounding out the fast 5.


With 20 laps on the table, the Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car pack came to the stripe with Anthony DiBello and defending July 12, 2014 - Dibellotrack champion Donny Beatty on the front row. With just over a handful of laps complete, DiBello was in control of the field, with Dan Price running second. At the halfway mark, Fidelle DiBello went around on the entrance of the first turn and took his spot at the rear for the restart. Throughout the closing stages of the headline dance, all eyes were on the #28 of Howie Crowe. After starting deep in the field, he was doing anything and everything possible to deny DiBello his 3rd 2014 win, but his attempts at getting past using the high side and the lower groove fell just short at the checkered flag. Dan Price, Donny Beatty and Steve Mayhew chased the lead duo to the winner’s circle.


Alex Lees and Ryan Dick brought a strong field of Ontario Modifieds Racing Series machines to the green flag. After a few weeks of hard luck, Alex Lees looked strong in the early going, with his twin brother Nick working his way into second just before the halfway mark. Even a late race charge by his younger sibling – who won during the first OMRS visit to Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval – wouldn’t keep Alex Lees from laying claim to his place in victory lane. Rob Warnes, another 2014 Peterborough feature winner on the modifieds’ tour, Rick Warnes and Ryan Dick finished 3rd, 4th and 5th.


Tyler Junkin and Ryan Babin were the front row starters for the 25 lap Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock feature. There was action all around the tight, tricky bullring on Mount Pleasant Road, west of the Liftlock City. With 10 laps complete, James Townsend muscled his way into second spot, bringing ‘The Show Stopper’ Danny Benedict with him, into 3rd. Babin would reclaim 3rd from Benedict with 15 complete and just 4 laps later, caution was displayed with the #7 of Derek Demont stopped at the entrance to pit road. A small slip to high side of the track may cost Tyler Junkin the win, as James Townsend slipped past and made the turn to Dart Heating and Air Conditioning victory lane. Babin was 3rd, with Danny Benedict and Brandt Graham completing the top 5.


Qualifying heat race wins on the night went to Jack Dallin and Jeffrey Vanderbelt in the Renegade Trucks, Matthew Vanderbelt, Cody Fenton, Willow Barberstock and Ray Schroer in the 4Fun, Anthony DiBello and Howie Crowe in the Thunder Cars. Rob Warnes and Nick Lees in the Ontario Modifieds, with Danny Benedict, Brandt Graham, Tyler Junkin and James Townsend taking Mini Stock checkered flags.


Bullring bullet points: Ron Soyeau of Lakefield won the night’s 50/50 draw, taking home $461.50…On a racing vacation from his Edmonton, Alberta home base, Rob ‘Moose’ Fountain made his first laps with the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun division. Fountain plans to be in the area for about a month and has added some local sponsorship to his #29x ride. Capital City Speedway regular Derek Demont brought his #7 Mini Stock – a former Danny Benedict machine – to the track to gain some experience for his Autumn Colours Classic debut…Parry Spring Service Renegade Truck division chauffeur Josh Milwain was at the track, but didn’t turn a single lap. He and his crew spent the entire day making an engine change to the #0 ride.


Saturday, July 19th Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval hosts the second of this year’s 3 Toonie Admission/Fan Appreciation Nights, presented by Pepsi. Racing will include the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun, Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock, Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car, Earl Ireland Auto Sales Late Model and Inex Ontario Legend divisions. In a revision to this year’s printed schedule, all start times will be moved forward 1 hour. Pit gates will open at 2:00, with spectator grandstands unlocked at 4:00 and the first green flag at 5:00.


Fans can always find the latest news at www.peterboroughspeedway.com or by liking the track on Facebook or following it on Twitter. You can also download the free Peterborough Speedway app on your Smartphone.

Share this post