Peterborough Speedway Celebrates a Successful 2015 Season

2015 Banquet #3Drivers, teams, staff and officials from Peterborough Speedway gathered Saturday, November 28th at The Ranch Resort Banquet and Conference Centre in Bethany as Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval as Peterborough Speedway celebrated its 2015 season.


Track owner/promoter J.P. Josiasse welcomed everyone to the evening’s festivities with his annual ‘State of the Speedway’ address, acknowledging the contributions of corporate and divisional sponsors, as well as track personnel. Peterborough Speedway continues to grow the motorsports brand that started in a farmer’s field nearly half a century ago and will make history for generations to come.


2015 was a homecoming of sorts for Dave Morgan. After a break from the weekly racing scene, the veteran campaigner from Buckhorn, Ontario returned to action at the tight, tricky bullring on Mount Pleasant Road, west of the Liftlock City and claimed the Earl Ireland Auto Sales Late Model track championship. Kevin Buscher took the Late Model Rookie of the Year Honours, while Tyler Betts was named the Most Improved Driver. The division’s Most Sportsmanlike driver – in memory of Terry Calvert – was Mark Gordon, while Bryan Sudsbury’s #29 was named the Best Appearing Car.


Whoever said ‘lightning never strikes in the same place twice’ doesn’t know Anthony DiBello. For the second year in a row, the driver of the #16 emerged with the Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car track championship. Bailey Jacobs captured the Rookie of the Year prize for the Thunder Car field, while Robert Richards won the Most Improved Driver honours. Tom Podd was named the Most Sportsmanlike Driver. The Best Appearing Thunder Car award went to Richards, with the #60 of Jacobs presented with the Thunder Car Hard Charger award.


Like DiBello, one track championship wasn’t enough for Renegade Truck division pilot Jack Dallin as the driver of the potent #07 clinched the 2015 crown. Chris Burrage was named top first year runner in the class. Jordan Dallin took the Most Improved Driver hardware. The Most Sportsmanlike Driver was Burrage, with Jordan Dallin’s #70 taking the Best Appearing Truck honours.


2015 was a banner year for Ennismore, Ontario’s Tyler Junkin. He not only won the Mini Stock track point championship, he captured the Autumn Colours Classic title. Steve Brier was named Mini Stock Rookie of the Year, while Brandon Hannah captured the Most Improved Driver award. Kevin Strutt was named the Most Sportsmanlike driver, while Junkin’s #41 was tabbed as the division’s Best Appearing Car.


Multiple feature event wins and strong runs throughout the season helped pave the way to a 2015 Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun division track championship for Ryan Oosterholt. The Rookie of the Year in the class was Dave Feeney, who was also named the Most Improved Driver. For the second year in a row, Marilyn Junkin took the Most Sportsmanlike Driver award, with Jeremy Kelly’s #80 was picked as Best Appearing Car.


Top 5 Point Standings by Division –

Earl Ireland Auto Sales Late Model: 1). Dave Morgan, 689. 2). Tyler Betts, 685. 3). Mark Gordon, 665. 4). Bryan Sudsbury, 634. 5). Jack Horner, 545.

Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car: 1). Anthony DiBello, 784. 2). Howie Crowe, 726. 3). Rob Richards, 725. 4). Steve Mayhew, 718. 5). Bailey Jacobs, 688.

Renegade Truck: 1). Jack Dallin, 397. 2). Tim Burke, 388. 3). Chris Burrage, 385. 4). Billy O’Hara, 336. 5). Jordan Dallin, 332.

Mini Stock: 1). Tyler Junkin, 889. 2). Kevin Strutt, 814. 3). Donovan Price, 807. 4). Brandon Hannah, 767. 5). Brad Lavalle, 737.

Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun:  1). Ryan Oosterholt, 861. 2). Sean Kennedy, 831. 3). Matthew Vanderbelt, 761. 4). Jeremy Kelly, 760. 5). Mike Sellers, 719.


Bullring bullet points: Sunday, December 6th at there will be a rules meeting held at the Best Western Otonabee Inn, 84 Landsdowne Street East, Peterborough to discuss plans for the 2016 season.


Fans can always find the latest news at  or by liking the track on Facebook or following it on Twitter.  You can also download the free Peterborough Speedway app on your Smartphone.

Share this post