INEX Ontario Legends Series Crowns 2015 Season Champion at Peterborough Speedway

IMG_3180With 20 teams in attendance, the INEX Ontario Legends Series signed-in for an event that would settle the score and close the curtain on their 2015 season – Saturday, August 29th – at Peterborough Speedway.


The battle would be decided on the race track, as 2-time series champion Nicholas Ledson held a slim one point advantage over Kevin Foisy in the fight for the title. The championship hopefuls occupied the front row starting spots as 19 of the initial 20 cars rolled to the green flag.


Ledson broke from the pack quickly, knowing that he’d need to finish ahead of the #57 machine to wear the crown. An early yellow flag slowed the pace and heightened the drama. Ledson would resume leading on the restart, with Foisy forced to use the outside line. Dave Riopelle assumed the second spot and looked to be a player in the outcome of the event. The florescent orange and black #92 would get close to; and even alongside Ledson on a number of occasions, but just couldn’t find the strength necessary to complete the swap of positions.


A spin in the 3rd turn with 4 laps complete would bunch the field again and renew Foisy’s championship hopes, as he’d restart on the more manageable inside line. With the green flag back in the air, Ledson would again set sail – this time with the veteran from the National Capital region on his tail. As the drivers caught the back of the pack and started to work through lapped traffic, Riopelle again had thoughts of being the spoiler but the leader had the quickest dog in the hunt.


Even though he’d worked harder for the victory than he had hoped he’d have to, Nicholas Ledson won both the battle and the war, on the way to his 3rd consecutive title. Riopelle, Cole Ledson, Foisy and Jaret Stewart would chase the champ to the checkers. Cole McFadden, Robin Jongen, Brandon Thurlby, Jamie Riberdy, Terry McClelland, Bill Mason, Jamie MacArthur, Bailey Brown, Mark Griffin, Parker Traves, Andrew McFadden, Duane Cinnamon, Rick Eades and Don Arnott completed the finishing order. After spending some long hours in the shop just to get his #19H ride to the track, Willy Howells was unable to answer the call for the main event.


Ledson and Foisy shared the 4 qualifying events run earlier in the evening.


INEX Ontario Legends Series Peterborough Speedway notes: Nicholas Ledson’s title clinching victory was only his second checkered flag of the 2015 season. His first was a $1,000 payday Saturday, August 15th.


Fans can find complete series news and event details by visiting The INEX Ontario Legends Series is supported by Clarke Motorsports Communications.

Share this post