The Attraction is in the Action on Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval

August 9, 2014 - 4FunShort track racing fans stepped-up to a full plate of excitement Saturday, August 9th at Peterborough Speedway. The Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series – presented by Attersley Tire – joined the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun, Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock, Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car and Hurricane Midgets for the second event in the Hot August Saturday Night Racing Series.


The first feature event to hit the tight, tricky bullring on Mount Pleasant Road, west of the Liftlock City was a 20 lapper for the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun division with Willow Barberstock and Kenny Ohno Jr. on the front row. As the field scored 2 laps complete, Cody Fenton took over the top spot and with 5 in the record books, Matthew Vanderbelt headed pit-side, but quickly returned. Barberstock dropped back to 4th as the crossed flags were displayed, with Andrew Massey chasing the leaders. The #83 car was black flagged for a fluid leak just a couple of circuits later. With one of the fastest cars in the field in recent weeks, Fenton would defend every challenge for his first win of the year, over Ohno, Barberstock, Ray Schroer and Tiffany Vanderbelt.


The Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car feature got off to a rough start, with a yellow flag for contact between Steve Mayhew and Howie Crowe with just a single lap complete. When racing resumed, it was Anthony DiBello and his father Fedele on the front row. Three laps were in the book, when the yellow flag slowed the pace again after Fedele DiBello made contact with the 4th turn wall, resulting in an extensive clean-up. John Baker Jr. jumped out to an early lead, with the rest of the pack bottled-up behind Anthony DiBello. Willie Reyns, Daryl Fice and Stu Robinson Jr. slipped past, dropping DiBello to 5th at the halfway point. There was no denying ‘JBJ’ a popular win, as positions 2nd through 4th remained the same over the closing laps. Howie Crowe grabbed 5th spot with just a couple of laps remaining.


With 20 laps on the table, Ryan Oosterholt and Chris Mulders brought the pack of Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stocks to the stripe. The 4 cylinder crew was turning some fast laps, until James Townsend went for a slide through the infield grass and made hard contact with the tire barrier, ending his night with 5 laps complete. Unlike the Thunder Car feature, the Mini Stock ‘A’ main was slowed by just one caution flag, as Oosterholt led every lap to take the win over Babin, Chris Mulders, Tyler Junkin and Brandt Graham.


The Hurricane Midgets came to the line 24 strong, with James Rogers and James Stanley pacing the way for the 20 lap headline dance. Richard Woodland slowed on the front stretch with only a single lap on the scoreboard to bring out the first yellow flag. Another yellow flew a couple of laps later, for a back stretch spin by Steve Lassman as the #37 came off the second turn. Brian Woodland took control of the field with 5 in the books, but all eyes were on the #83 of Jamie Bound who was charging through the pack. Paul Draganac took the top spot with a dozen laps scored, but a lap later the leader touched wheels with Bound, sending the #83 hard into the outside wall to bring out a red flag. Bound was finished for the night, with Draganac sent to the tail of the field. Brian Woodland would take the win over Rodgers, Shawn Stones, Dave Bradley and Adam Carrothers.


James Ott turned the fastest lap during Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series time trials, with Tim Tolton controlling the field for the green flag of the 100 lap main event. At the checkered flag it was Shawn McGlynn, Jake Ott, Kevin Allen, Brandon Diedero and Josh Wood. Full race details can be found at


Qualifying race wins earlier in the night went to Cody Fenton, Ray Schroer, Tiffany Vanderbelt and Matthew Vanderbelt in the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun. Willie Reyns, Daryl Fice, Craig Scott and Fedele DiBello took the Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car opening rounds, with Tyler Junkin and Ryan Babin each capturing a pair of Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock heats. Hurricane Midget qualifiers went to James Rodgers, Dave Bradley and Shawn Stones.


Bullring bullet points: Ian Smith of Peterborough won $612.50 in the night’s 50/50 draw…Former Late Model driver Bryan Sudsbury won King of the Hill in a Honda Civic…The 3rd place Thunder Car finish for Daryl Fice came in the first start of the season for the driver and his new ride…After sharing the driving duties over the past few weeks, Donny Beatty has assumed the role of crew chief on the #40 Thunder Car with Stu Robinson Jr. moving into the driver’s seat on a weekly basis.


Saturday, August 16th Peterborough Speedway will host the year’s 3rd and final Toonie Spectator Grandstand Admission/Fan Appreciation Nights, presented by Pepsi. Action on the track will include the Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock, Parry Spring Series Renegade Truck, Earl Ireland Auto Sales Late Model, Inex Ontario Legend and Ontario Modifieds Racing Series divisions, with an on-track autograph session at intermission. With a full agenda, track officials have revised the start times from those shown on the printed schedule. Pit gates will open at 2:00, with spectator grandstands unlocked at 4:00 and racing at 5:00.


Fans can always find the latest news at or by liking the track on Facebook or following it on Twitter. You can also download the free Peterborough Speedway app on your Smartphone.

Share this post