A New Month of Excitement Arrives at Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Oval

June 7, 2014 - Jack HornerAnother evening of perfect weather and terrific action welcomed fans to Peterborough Speedway Saturday, June 7th.


Qualifying heats took to the track just after 6:00, with Willow Barberstock and Marilyn Junkin taking the opening round wins for the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun division, with Tyler Junkin, 2013 track champion Ryan Oosterholt, ‘The Show Stopper’ Danny Benedict and Chris Mulders, running his father Henk’s #45 earning checkered flags for their efforts in the Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stocks. Making their second appearance in as many weeks, the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series – powered by Torque Builders Inc. saw Brad Stevenson and last week’s feature winner Nick Lees take the wins.


Jack Dallin, the division’s only winner this season and Andy McCann took the Parry Spring Service Renegade Truck heats, while Ryan Kimball and Adam Cuthbertson grabbed the Earl Ireland Auto Sales Late Model heat races.


The evening’s main events began with the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun drivers tackling the tight, tricky bullring on Mount Pleasant Road west of the Liftlock City for 25 laps with Marilyn Junkin and Matthew Vanderbelt in control of the field. The 63 of Ray Smith slowed to a stop on the infield grass to bring out the yellow flag and after running at the front of the pack from the drop of the green flag, Marilyn Junkin was June 7, 2014-Pipepinched into the outside wall and dropped back to second position for the restart with 18 laps complete. With the field back under green, Junkin slipped deeper in the running order, handing the lead and eventual race win to Griffen Powell. Last week’s feature winner, Willow Barberstock, Vanderbelt, Ray Schroer, and Kenny Ohno Jr. followed Powell across the stripe.


With 25 laps on the agenda, Kevin Strutt and Ryan Babin paced the 15 starters for the Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock feature. With a dozen laps complete, Strutt and Babin were still showing the way, with Chris Mulders running 3rd. Just a lap later, Strutt slipped to 3rd and faced a challenge from Tyler Junkin. There were 15 laps complete, when Bill Goddard spun Mulders on the front stretch and was parked for the night because of rough driving. Ryan Babin took control of the field on the lap 18 restart and parked his potent #89 in Dart Heating and Air Conditioning victory lane. Tyler Junkin, Ryan Oosterholt, James Townsend and Strutt completed the top 5.


The Ontario Modifieds Racing Series, powered by Torque Builders Inc. were set to battle for 20 laps, with Rick Warnes and Bill Pickford on the front row. Just a pair of laps were showing on the scoreboard when the race’s first yellow was displayed for a solo spin in the 3rd turn by Bill Burrows. Short of the halfway mark, Brad Stevenson – subbing for Chad Strawn – had moved into the top spot, with Rob Warnes on his rear nerf bar. After smoking for a couple of laps, the #07 of Alex Lees showed a belch of flame coming off the 4th turn and rolled to a stop on the infield grass, bringing out a red flag with 15 circuits complete. It would take a 5 lap shootout to settle the score, as Rob Warnes would nudge past Stevenson on the restart and then hang on for the win. Nick Lees, Stevenson, Rick Warnes and Bill Burrows completed the OMRS fast 5.


By virtue of winning the first 2 Parry Spring Service Renegade Truck main events, Jack Dallin would fire from the rear of the field; but he wasn’t likely to stay there long. Bill O’Hara and Andy McCann brought the field to the green, but Dallin was looking to add another notch to his gun belt and with a green to checkered finish, the driver of the #07 wouldn’t be denied. Defending track champion O’Hara was second, with Jeffrey Vanderbelt, McCann and Stephen Bierworth completing the top 5.


Matt Spence and Craig Parry paced the Earl Ireland Auto Sales Late Models to the line for their 25 lap feature dance. Parry – who had faced some earlier issues with handling and horsepower – dropped back a few positions, while Spence – who is in his rookie Late Model season – was turning some fast laps at the front of the pack. The race stayed under green flag conditions for a dozen circuits, when an incident between Spence and Adam Cuthbertson sent both cars to the rear. On the restart, it was Jack Horner’s turn to show some muscle, as the #31 machine took control of the pack. As laps continued to click off, Horner faced a new challenge in the form of Ryan Kimball, who was being chased by Amanda Connolly. Try as he might, Kimball couldn’t find a way around Horner who became the 4th different Late Model feature winner in as many events. Parry and Spence followed the lead trio across the line.


Bullring Bullet Points: The night’s 50/50 draw paid a solid $384 to the winner…King of the Hill was won by Larry Crowe Jr., a former Late Model track champion…Last week’s Late Model feature winner Chris Mitchell took a night off, but his #22 machine was still in competition, being piloted by OSCAAR Modified driver Josh Gruntz…With the Thunder Car teams taking a week off, Griffen Powell dusted-off his 4Fun ride for the trip to victory lane.


Action returns to Canada’s Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval Saturday, June 14th when the TQ Midgets join the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun, Peterborough Hyundai Mini Stock, Parry Spring Service Renegade Truck and Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car teams. Kid’s bike races will be an added attraction at intermission. Pit gates open at 3:00, spectator grandstands at 5:00 and racing starts at 6:00.


Fans can always find the latest news at www.peterboroughspeedway.com or following the track on Facebook or Twitter. You can also download the free Peterborough Speedway app on your Smartphone.

Share this post