Peterborough Speedway Hosts a Hot August Night of Action

Aug 10 -2The pit area at Canada’s Toughest 1/3rd of a Mile Oval was packed Saturday, August 10th as Attersley Tire presented a solid night of racing, highlighted by a 100 lap main event for the Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Tour.


10 lap qualifying heats for the Battlefield Equipment Rental Four Fun division kicked-off the night’s action, with Andrew Massey, James Townsend, Willow Barberstock and Griffen Powell taking a trip to the winner’s circle.  Bill O’Hara and Tyler Junkin claimed the Moi Parry Spring Service preliminary rounds, while former Kawartha Speedway track champion Willie Reyns – in Matt Spence’s #53 machine – Brad Lavalle, Anthony DiBello and Howie Crowe grabbed the Paul Davis Systems Thunder Car heats.  Paul Draganac and Jamie Bound shared the Hurricane Midget opening rounds, with Dave Hayward taking the checkered flag in the ‘B’ main.


Ray Schroer and Joe Craven paced the field of 14 runners for the 20 lap Battlefield Equipment Rental Four Fun feature tilt.  There wasn’t a single lap complete when Craven bounced his #23 machine off the 3rd turn wall for the first yellow flag.  After that brief hiccup, it was smooth sailing with Ryan Oosterholt dominating until a late race pass by James Townsend parked his #14 in Dart Heating and Air Conditioning victory lane.  Andrew Massey, Griffen Powell and Willow Barberstock completed the top 5.


The 12 lap ‘A’ main for the Moi Parry Spring Service Renegade Trucks was a caution-free affair.  Bill O’Hara took advantage of his pole position starting spot to grab the win, with Jack Dallin and Tyler Junkin rounding out the top 3 finishers.


With Craig Scott and Jeff Bell pacing the field, the Paul Davis Systems Thunder Cars came to the line 16 strong for their 20 feature tilt.  Scott would sprint away early with Dan Price on his tail, while Bell dropped back through the pack.  The front runners were working through lapped traffic with 9 laps complete, when a grinding multi-car wreck – involving the first 4 runners, including Scott and Price – entering the 1st turn brought out the red flag.  All drivers walked away under their own power, but several machines needed to be towed from the scene.


With the scene cleared, green flag action returned with Bell and Willie Reyns inheriting the front row.  The leaders built a 3 car gap on 3rd place Tom Cormier, while Donny Beatty charged from the back of the pack until he collected Howie Crowe in turn 3 and slowed the pace with the lap counter showing 16 complete.  Just as the field came back to green, contact between Bill Northam and Tom Cormier produced another yellow flag.  A quick restart resulted in Port Hope’s Willie Reyns parking his borrowed ride in victory lane, with Bell, Craig Scott, Howie Crowe and Beatty the next 4 to follow the #53 across the line.


After a World of Outlaws sprint car inspired 4 wide salute to the fans, the Hurricane Midget main event was a torrid affair with plenty of action and just a pair of yellow flags.  As the checkered flag flew, Jamie Bound took the win, with Rob McCall, James Stanley, Adam Carrothers and James Rodgers finishing-out the top 5.


Short Track Saturday Night:  Paul Cade turned a lap of 18.62 seconds around the 1/3rd mile oval to claim victory in King of the Hill.  The 100 lap Attersley Tire/Tirecraft Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup feature event was won by Josh Wood, who started from the pole position.  Full details can be found on the series web-site

Share this post